This week, I’m going to serve up several images as the Photo of the Week! We’re in Chile, having a great trip. Right now, its dumping, so tomorrow should be an amazing day. The lifts are closed today because its just too windy and there is zero viability. Its given me a chance to check out the hot ub and get caught up on some emailing.

We spent a day in Santiago, because the road up to Portillo was closed when we first arrived. I had wanted to check out the city so this ended up being a pretty cool day. The city is HUGE. Definitely the biggest city I have ever seen. Another thing I noticed was the amount of wild/stray dogs. They were everywhere. And really smart for the most part. They would walk on the sidewalk and obey traffic. Although the occasional dog would try and attack a taxi. We asked a local about this and he said the ASPCA will not allow anything to be done to the dogs. They do, however, give them all rabies shots, then let them do their thing. While driving to the hotel from the airport, I saw a pack of about 20 wild dogs!

The following day, we took a 2 hour bus up into the Andes. It was a beautiful drive and we got to see some of the aazing countryside Chile has to offer.

Finally, we arrived to Portillo! I immediately put my skis on and hit the slopes. The setting is amazing, although the terrain is a bit limited. Its not nearly as big as some of the resorts we have in Colorado. But some of the runs are the best I’ve ever experienced. I skied fresh tracks all day! Its dumping right now, so tomorrow should be another great powder day, I can’t wait!!!

