The new Urban Climber Photo Annual just dropped and I’m psyched to have my shot of Chris Sierzant rockin the cover! I shot this about a year ago during a long weekend trip to the South. In three days, we shot portraits for the cover of the UC Interview Issue, filmed the first ascent of the Ebola Project for MVM, shot photos of The Orb at Rocktown, Apes on Acid at Castle Rock, and some bouldering at Little Rock City (The Stone Fort).  Chris is always great to work with, as he puts in the extra effort needed to take the product to the next level. Puck up your copy of UC today!

Cover_UC30-06

To get this shot, we headed out to Little Rock City in Tennessee at about 6am to catch the early morning light. The sun was actually only lighting the tree in the background. I used two AB800’s to light Chris and the boulder, adding warming gels to balance the colors. I wanted to incorperate that colorful tree in the background, so I shot with a fisheye lens to bend the tree and frame the boulder. It’s always been cool to see my work on covers, but a photo annual cover has always been a goal. Its an issue all about what I do, photography. So having my shot represent the whole issue gets me psyched! I can’t wait to check out the rest of the issue!

